Krupp Library: Psychology 12: Scholarly Articles

Psychology, Education, Medical, Health, and Science Databases

Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window Why look here? The Health and Wellness Resource Center provides up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. What's included? It has nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to reference titles.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window Why look here? Use this database to find articles from nursing and allied health journals. Covers topics such as fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs and more. What's included? Many articles are available in full text and also have graphics.
Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window Why look here? In depth information about diseases and anatomical systems with explanations of interventions and diagnostic tests.
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window Why look here? This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. What's included? Articles published between 1980 and the present relating to the study of the mind.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Why search here? PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from life science journals and online books. What's included? Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window ProQuest Science Journals includes over 1,145 titles—with more than 965 available in full text. This database includes articles, charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements for applied and general sciences.
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Contains background reference content along with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, and audio files.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic (Gale OneFile ) This link opens in a new window Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles in many subject areas, including physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature and more. It also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and and CBC.
Academic Select (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Updated daily, Expanded Academic ASAP is a comprehensive database that contains scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers across all academic disciplines, including the arts and humanities, social sciences, science and technology. Most of the content is peer-reviewed and in full text and includes images.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar searches across scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints and grey literature. There is typically an abstract for the article. Ask a librarian to request the full text of the article. Additionally, check out the Cited by link to find resources that utilized that one in their bibliography.

Open Source Journals

PsychOpen
PsychOpen publishes a wide range of psychology journals covering a variety of psychological topics. All journals conduct strict peer review and adhere to the highest scientific standards. All content is published under the principles of open access, licensed under a CC-BY license and free of charge to readers.

A-Z Databases

What Is a Scholarly Article? (University of Kansas)

From the video. A scholarly article:

Can also be called a peer-reviewed, academic, or refereed article.
Is written by an expert in the field.
Includes original research.
Has a narrow area of focus.
Is written for other scholars.
Contains a uniform structure.
Contains a detailed bibliography.
Is published in academic journals.

How to Find a Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Article

Search for scholarly articles in article databases by using the filter functions. You can also use search engines such as Google Scholar to find articles, although you won't get full text for every article you find online.

From the video. Scholarly articles contain:

An abstract (summary of the content)
Author affiliations
Specialized vocabulary and/or statistical tables
A bibliography

Searching is Strategic (University of Washington)

From the video:

1. Use the keywords and concepts you gather from your reading in your searches. Add to your word bank as you continue your research.

2. Combine keywords to broaden or narrow your search. If you have too many results, narrow your search by combining keywords using "AND" between them or by using the Advanced Search option. If you have too few results, you could expand your search by using "OR" when you are combining keywords.

3. Use the Advanced Search option in databases, search engines, and catalogs to narrow your search.

3. Use the filters provided in databases to narrow your search by one or more of these :

Source (e.g. Peer-Reviewed Journal)
Document Type (e.g. article, critical essay, book review, report)
Publication Date

Psychology 12: Scholarly Articles

Choosing Your Sources