Krupp Library: Model U.N.: Digging Deeper

Access to Databases

When you are off campus you will need usernames and passwords to use some of our databases.

These are posted on the Topics page of the Library Lounge.

You also have access to many research resources through

Boston Public Library. Residents of Massachusetts can register

for an e-card through this registration form to start using electronic resources.

Academic (Gale OneFile ) This link opens in a new window Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles in many subject areas, including physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature and more. It also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and and CBC.
Academic Select (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Updated daily, Expanded Academic ASAP is a comprehensive database that contains scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers across all academic disciplines, including the arts and humanities, social sciences, science and technology. Most of the content is peer-reviewed and in full text and includes images.
Gale Sites This link opens in a new window Why look here? All Gale resources are available through this link. What's included? There are encyclopedias, magazines, opinions, electronic books and a multitude of resources through this link.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar searches across scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints and grey literature. There is typically an abstract for the article. Ask a librarian to request the full text of the article. Additionally, check out the Cited by link to find resources that utilized that one in their bibliography.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Contains newspaper and scholarly articles, statistics, multimedia, infographics, and primary sources that provide different points of view on controversial contemporary topics.
Proquest Central Student This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource brings together some of ProQuest’s most used databases in education, humanities, psychology, science, social sciences, and news. It includes millions of articles from more than 10,000 full-text scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Science and the Environment

Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale) This link opens in a new window This collection provides robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers and corporate interests. The collection includes more than five million articles from magazines and academic journals published between 1980 and today.
National Academy of Sciences This link opens in a new window The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars in science and engineering.
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Contains background reference content along with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, and audio files.

Note: Information About Subscription Databases

You should get direct access to these databases when on campus. If you are prompted to log in using usernames and passwords, go to the "Off Campus Access to Library Databases" tile in the Topics section of Library Lounge to see individual database usernames and passwords.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
More than 13,000 international, national, regional, and local news articles from over 200 countries and territories.
Boston Globe Article Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles published in the Boston Globe from 1980 to the present.
Boston Globe Historical Newspapers 1872-1990 This link opens in a new window
Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. Researchers can study the progression of issues over time through these historical newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons, and more.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
This reference source provides perspectives on national and global current events from international news providers. There are sections on Business and Economy; Health and Medicine; Conflict and Diplomacy; Science and Technology; Environment and Climate Change; Society and Culture; Government, Politics, and Law; and Women, Children, and the Family. There is browsing by issue or by region.
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national and local publications, as well as titles from around the world. In addition to full text articles, this database includes images and radio/television broadcasts.
Proquest Central Student This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource brings together some of ProQuest’s most used databases in education, humanities, psychology, science, social sciences, and news. It includes millions of articles from more than 10,000 full-text scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
New York Times: Historical, current, and also the Learning Network This link opens in a new window
1. Visit nytimes.com/passes to activate your school New York Times digital pass.

2. On nytimes.com/passes, click on "Register" and create a free account using your school email address. If you already have registered a free NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address, log in with those credentials.

3. Validate your email address. Check your email inbox for a confirmation message from The New York Times. Click on the link in your confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your New York Times Academic Pass. This will bring you back to the academic pass page, where you will select whether you are a student or faculty member and select your graduation year if relevant.

Google News
Google News is a news aggregator that presents a continuous, customizable flow of articles organized from thousands of publishers and magazines. Google News is available as an app
Google News Archive
This is an extension of Google News providing free access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives on the web, both free and paid. Some of the news archives date back to 18th century.
The Guardian
World news from a UK newspaper.
Historical Jewish Press
This site contains a collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. Provided by the National Library of Israel.
Jewish Journal
JewishJournal.com is one of the world’s leading Jewish news sites. It contains local, national and global news updated daily, as well as commentary from noted Jewish personalities and writers. Jewish Journal is published by TRIBE Media Corp., formerly Los Angeles Jewish Publications, Inc. It is a diversified non-profit media company focused on local, national and global Jewish news, issues and culture. It is not affiliated with any organization, ideology or movement. TRIBE Media Corp. consists of Jewish Journal; jewishjournal.com, podcasts and Tribe Events.
Jewish Telegraphic Agency
The Jewish Telegraphic Agency is a non partisan news organization. It has correspondents in New York, Washington, Israel, Europe and cities around the globe, and provides extensive coverage of political, economic and social developments affecting Jews all over the world. JTA was founded in 1917 and all its communications since 1923 have been digitized and are freely available online. JTA also serves as an international syndication service for more than 70 Jewish publications and websites that depend on JTA for Jewish news outside of their local community.
Jewish Telegraphic Agency Archives
This digital historical archive of communications from the JTA goes back to 1923 and continues to the present day. There are currently around 250,000 articles which are free and open to the public.
PBS NewsHour
The PBS NewsHour website has all the latest news, as well as videos and transcripts from the show listed chronologically or by topic. The show also streams live on Youtube.
PBS Newshour Extra
News articles and videos from PBS NewsHour plus additional background and context for each topic. There is a "Student Voices" section that enables students to publish original work related to the news, including essays and video reports.
Smithsonian Teen Tribune
Daily news articles from the Associated Press in both English and Spanish versions. You can read the articles in a choice of reading levels. Also includes a weekly video and a weekend "Monday Morning Ready" newsletter.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
More than 13,000 international, national, regional, and local news articles from over 200 countries and territories.

Electronic Books

Reference E-Books (Gale) This link opens in a new window
More than 200 searchable reference e-books for the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and the social sciences.