Krupp Library: Science: Databases, Search Engines, and the Web

Science Databases

Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Contains background reference content along with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, and audio files.
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers and corporate interests. The collection includes more than five million articles from magazines and academic journals published between 1980 and today.
Science.org This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in Science magazine from 1997 to the present day. This peer-reviewed science journal is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Science Journals includes over 1,145 titles—with more than 965 available in full text. This database includes articles, charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements for applied and general sciences.

Medicine and Health Databases

Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Why look here?
The Health and Wellness Resource Center provides up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources.
What's included?
It has nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to reference titles.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
Why look here?
Use this database to find articles from nursing and allied health journals. Covers topics such as fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs and more.
What's included?
Many articles are available in full text and also have graphics.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Why look here?
In depth information about diseases and anatomical systems with explanations of interventions and diagnostic tests.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Why search here?
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from life science journals and online books.
What's included?
Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Why look here?
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time.
What's included?
Articles published between 1980 and the present relating to the study of the mind.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These general databases are useful for finding a variety of sources on controversial issues related to a full range of science disciplines. The sources include long form newspaper articles, op-ed pieces in professional and peer-reviewed journals as well as scholarly articles and multimedia.

Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
This reference source provides perspectives on national and global current events from international news providers. There are sections on Business and Economy; Health and Medicine; Conflict and Diplomacy; Science and Technology; Environment and Climate Change; Society and Culture; Government, Politics, and Law; and Women, Children, and the Family. There is browsing by issue or by region.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Contains newspaper and scholarly articles, statistics, multimedia, infographics, and primary sources that provide different points of view on controversial contemporary topics.
Power Search (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive search engine that cross-searches across multiple Gale databases
to find authoritative reference, periodical and primary source documents.

On the Web

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches across scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints and grey literature.
There is typically an abstract for the article. Ask a librarian to request the full text of the article. Additionally, check out the Cited by link to find resources that utilized that one in their bibliography.
National Academy of Sciences This link opens in a new window
The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars in science and engineering.

Science Search Engines

ScienceResearch.com (http://www.scienceresearch.com/)

A free, publicly available search engine that searches over 300 authoritative science and technology collections.

BioOne (http://www.bioone.org/) searches over 200 leading titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

ScienceDirect (http://www.sciencedirect.com/) searches in peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content.

WorldWideScience (https://worldwidescience.org/) is a global science gateway to national and international scientific databases and portals.