Krupp Library: Science 12: Advanced Experimental and Organic Chemistry: Overview

Welcome!

Image credit

Pharmaceutical jar for the opiate 'A. Papauer R.', c.1700 (ceramic).

Current Research

Futurity
Futurity features the latest discoveries by scientists at top research universities in the US, UK, Canada, Europe, Asia, and Australia.
Periodic Videos
A specialized YouTube channel focused on topics related to chemistry.
Science Magazine
A peer-reviewed journal with articles about original scientific research and current science topics and issues around the globe.

Class Documents

Organic Chemistry Video Links

Open Access

Biodiversity Heritage Library The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
Data Sources A list of the organizations and vendors who provided data included within the PubChem website. This list of sources includes chemical vendors around the globe. TIP: Use the check boxes on the left of the page to filter your search results by source type, category, status, and country.
Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
FDA New Drugs Development and Approval FDA regulations and procedures for the development and approval of new drugs.
The Human Genome Project The HGP was an inward voyage of discovery led by an international team of researchers looking to sequence and map all of the genes -- together known as the genome -- of members of our species, Homo sapiens.
PubChem An open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The database is a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public.
PubMed PubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Science Databases

Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Contains background reference content along with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, and audio files.
Science.org This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in Science magazine from 1997 to the present day. This peer-reviewed science journal is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window ProQuest Science Journals includes over 1,145 titles—with more than 965 available in full text. This database includes articles, charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements for applied and general sciences.

Wikipedia Do's and Don'ts

How to Use Wikipedia for Academic Research

https://www.wikipedia.org/

Reading an article in Wikipedia is a legitimate start for your research and can be a helpful source for gaining familiarity with your topic, gathering key concepts, vocabulary, and issues related to your topic, locating scholarly articles, and kickstarting the process of helping you narrow your focus. Read this article published by Wikipedia that explains how using Wikipedia fits into a research project.

Electronic and Print Books

Biotechnology
Brenda Wilmoth Lerner and K. Lee Lerner, eds. Examines biotechnology and related subjects in the context of science, government, politics, culture and society, and the environment. It also covers historical, political and ethical debates and issues.
Medicine, Health, and Bioethics

eBooks & Digital Audio Books

BiblioBoard
Click on the BiblioBoard Open Access Icon on the right. No need to sign in
Ebook Central
Set up an account to access the books.
Google Books
Google Talk to Books
Gale E-Books

Sora
E-books and digital audio books.

- Download the free SORA app.
- Select Gann Academy.
- Click on the access link.
- Log in using your school credentials.

The websites listed below offer public domain ebooks that are freely available for you to download and keep:

Feedbooks.com
Thousands of public domain eBooks in a downloadable epub file.
Google eBookstore

Use the Google app for Android or iPhone to read public domain books through Google or download the book in a epub or pdf format to read on any compatible eReader.
Hundredzeros.com

Top downloaded free kindle books.
LibriVox

Public domain audiobooks.
ManyBooks.net

50,000 free eBooks available for Kindle, Nook, iPad and most other eReaders.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog