Library Resources: About Us

The George D. Krupp Library supports Gann Academy's core skills of teaching and learning by providing resources and support to nurture students’ intellectual curiosity and creativity, enable them to share and use information ethically, and become lifelong readers and learners.

The library collection includes 8,000 print and electronic items, databases, and numerous Library Guides to support courses, research, and leisure reading. The print collection includes popular fiction, cutting edge non-fiction, core Judaica titles, and periodicals. The electronic resources, which are available 24/7, include databases, e-books and digital audiobooks, and there is access to inter-library loan through the Boston Public Library. The Library Media Specialist collaborates with teachers to provide instruction in research and information literacy skills at all grade levels and in all subject areas. Students are encouraged to ask the Library Media Specialist for research help and for suggestions for leisure reading.  Our beautiful new Library Learning Commons also provides a choice of spaces for collaboration, private study, student clubs, performance, author visits, and community meetings and celebrations. 

The Israel Arbeiter Gallery of Understanding, dedicated in 2017, is housed on the lower level of the school and contains a dramatic exhibit of artifacts, photographs, and documents from Izzy’s life in pre-war Poland, through the Holocaust, and his post-war life in America. The mission of the Gallery is to provide education about the Holocaust in order to promote tolerance and inclusivity. There is also a section in the Learning Commons for Gann Academy archives, which includes yearbooks, student publications, and photographs.