Krupp Library: Ecology and the Environment Class: Climate Change Project

Background Information

Parts of a Scientific Article -

Abstract - A brief overview of what the article is about and why the authors did the experiment.
Introduction - Gives you the motivation and importance of the study, includes background information.
Literature Review - Reviews previous work on this topic that this article builds upon.
Methods - How the experiment was carried out.
Results - This is the raw data from the experiment. There will be charts and tables.
Discussion - The reasons for the conclusion.
Conclusion, Implication or Summary - This section discusses the meaning and implications of the research.

Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale) This link opens in a new window This collection provides robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers and corporate interests. The collection includes more than five million articles from magazines and academic journals published between 1980 and today.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches across scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints and grey literature.
There is typically an abstract for the article. Ask a librarian to request the full text of the article. Additionally, check out the Cited by link to find resources that utilized that one in their bibliography.
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Contains background reference content along with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, and audio files.