Research Paper - History 11 - American History - Krupp Library at Gann Academy

Presearch

Explore these sources to gather background information and learn more about your topic. Keep an eye out for keywords and references that can help you find more sources once you narrow in on your topic.

U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Includes full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.

Secondary Sources

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches across scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints and grey literature.
There is typically an abstract for the article. Ask a librarian to request the full text of the article. Additionally, check out the Cited by link to find resources that utilized that one in their bibliography.
Worldcat This link opens in a new window
Why look here?
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library catalogs. Use this resource to find books and other materials in local, national and international libraries.
What's included?
There are listings of which libraries have the item that you are looking for. Ask your librarian for help requesting the item using Interlibrary Loan.

Access E-Books in the Library Catalog

You can access Gale E-Books from our library catalog. When you find an e-Book in the catalog, click on the hyperlink to access the book.

Large Primary Source Collections on the Web

Digital Public Library of America
DPLA has resources from libraries, museums and archives.
You can search, explore by date or place, or browse the exhibitions.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Over 18 million digitized items from the Library Congress Collections, including manuscripts, photographs, maps, sound recordings and more.
National Archives
The holdings of the National Archives date back to 1775 and contain public records that trace the story of America, its government, and the American people.
National Library of Israel
Millions of primary sources including images, videos, photographs, music, manuscripts, maps and newspapers about Jewish history and culture. There is also a section for educators with primary source sets, lesson plans, and interactive activities on many topics.
Wilson Center Digital Archive: International History Declassified
Explore 6 themes in U.S. and world history. Each theme includes an overview of the topic, a timeline, and primary source documents.