Skip to main content

History

Databases

STEP THREE: Expand Your Reading

This is where the fun really begins! After you have a clearer idea about your topic, the subtopics within it, and have formulated a research question and/or a thesis statement, you can start to dig deeper. Make use of the resources available to you to read more widely about your topic. This includes finding information in all sorts of formats including text, audio, video and more. Expand your search for information in databases, e-books, primary sources, and on the Web.

As you read more widely, be prepared to modify your research question and topic. This is because as you learn more about your topic you might change your focus of interest, modify your assumptions, and come to different conclusions. Making new discoveries about your topic and possibly modifying your viewpoint as you learn more, keeps your thinking dynamic, relevant and interesting to others. This is all part of the research process. 

 

Beware the Perfect Source!

Is there one perfect source for all the information you need? This short video explains why it's more effective to explore a variety of sources to deepen your knowledge about your topic, validate your research, and support your point of view.

History Databases

Note: Information About Databases

The databases below include our school subscriptions plus databases we can use during a trial period.  Please make a note of when these trials end (the dates are listed with each database). If you are prompted to log in using usernames and passwords, use the ones listed in the "Off Campus Access to Library  Databases" tile in the Topics section of Library Lounge. 

Multidisciplinary Databases

Note: Information About Databases

The databases below include our school subscriptions plus databases we can use during a trial period.  Please make a note of when these trials end (the dates are listed with each database). If you are prompted to log in using usernames and passwords, use the ones listed in the "Off Campus Access to Library  Databases" tile in the Topics section of Library Lounge. You will find additional databases in the A-Z Database List.