Historical Context - Music Foundations - Composer Project

Databases

These are all general databases that you can use to find overviews of specific time periods and any other general information. All the articles will provide links to other related articles, so that you can easily expand your search.

Note: You have direct access to these databases when you are on campus. However, if you are prompted to log in using usernames and passwords, use the ones listed in the "Off Campus Access to Library Databases" tile in the Topics section of Library Lounge.

Britannica High School Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Includes topical articles, maps, photos, illustrations, videos, multimedia clips, and yearbooks from 1993 onward. Many entries also list suggested websites and related resources for additional reading on the subject.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history, theory and cultures of music around the globe
World History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Contains information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.authoritative reference content as well as full-text magazines, academic journals, Includes news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.

Reference Books

American Decades by Manly
Call Number: Ref E169.12 A419
ISBN: 0810357232
Each volume in this 10-volume set explains the changes and challenges in all areas of lifefor each decade of the 20th century.
Primary Documents by Cynthia Rose (Editor)
Call Number: Ref E169.1 A4471977
ISBN: 0787665878
This 10-volume set containing primary sources from each decade of the twentieth century is a companion to the American Decades series.

E-Book Collections

Reference E-Books (Gale) This link opens in a new window
More than 200 searchable reference e-books for the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and the social sciences.

Tips for Using Gale e-Books

You can search for articles in specific books/volumes or in multiple books at the same time.
Use the topic finder feature to help you find articles related to your topic.