Skip to main content

History 9 - The Development of the Transatlantic Slave Trade: Overview

Primary Sources

"Slaves working a sugar field, c.1860 (coloured engraving)." In Bridgeman Images: Peter Newark American Pictures, edited by Bridgeman Images. Bridgeman, 2014. From Credo Source.

See Course Documents for helpful strategies on how to analyze different types of primary sources.

Slavery Images: A Visual Record of the African Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Early African Diaspora

Africa and the Caribbean from The National Archives, UK.

The Princeton and Slavery Project An exploration of Princeton's historical ties to the institution of slavery.

Bridgeman Images Out of Copyright Section Search in the Out of Copyright section for primary sources on your topic.

 

Library of Congress Tips: Begin by using your search term(s) to searching "Everything". Then narrow your focus by time period and type of source.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive Access is available with a Boston Public Library library card. You can obtain an e-card by registering for an account that is available to all Massachusetts residents. Contains primary sources, links to Web sites, books and articles.

Credo contains many primary sources. If you go to Basic Search and use the drop down menu you can search for Images on your topic.

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) includes sixteen thematic collections of primary sources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture. From the Wilson Library at the University of Northern Carolina at Chapel Hill.

What is the point of citing sources?

Citing sources:

  • Shows the research you've done.
  • Strengthens the ideas you present. 
  • Adds your ideas to the "conversation" about your topic.
  • Allows readers to follow up on your work through its original sources.

Annotated Bibliographies and Citation Tools

Annotated bibliographies support research by helping you read your sources of information critically; develop your point of view; place you within the academic conversation on the topic; enable other researchers to find information. 

Annotated Bibliographies article from the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University.

Advice on writing an annotated bibliography from the University of Toronto.

Tips for writing an annotated bibliography from Clark University

An annotated bibliography includes the following:

  • Citation 
  • Summary (description of the content)
  • Evaluation (reliability, purpose, usefulness)

See the course documents for an annotated bibliography rubric, example, and template.

Databases and Other Online Resources

Reference sources, such as encyclopedias, provide background information on a topic and can help you in getting context and perspective on a topic. Entries will often also include a reference list or resources used by the author. These provide great leads to track down more information on your topic.

Encyclopedia:

History Databases:

General Databases:

Database trial until June 2: Proquest Central Student. See the Announcements sidebar on the Library Lounge home page for access.

Databases A to Z    Databases A to Z 

Tobacco

Aspects of the Atlantic Slave Trade: Smoking Pipes, Tobacco, and the Middle Passage by Jerome S. Handler. An article published in African Diaspora Archeology Newsletter. 

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive Access is available with a Boston Public Library library card. You can obtain an e-card by registering for an account that is available to all Massachusetts residents. Contains primary sources, links to Web sites, books and articles.

 

Trade and Commerce articles:

Trade Goods for the Slave Trade from Discovering Bristol.

Trade and Commerce from the Understanding Slavery Initiative, a consortium of 6 museums across the UK.

 

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database

Searching Online

Books

eBooks & Digital Audio Books

Loading ...

Tips & Tricks for Searching Online

Web Search Tips and Tricks

Here are some tried and true web search methods that will work in virtually any search engine and directory, along with a few basic web search skills you need to have in order to have truly successful web searches. 

Not all Search Engines Are Equal

An article comparing two popular search engines - Google and DuckDuckGo - with pros and cons including different levels of privacy, speed, and accuracy.

How to Search on Google

Many articles from Google on how to do effective searches, including a form for doing Advanced Searches.