Krupp Library: Resources by Subject: General

General

The Internet Archive is a non-profit library of free books, periodicals, movies, software, Websites, and more. https://archive.org/. You can sign up for free to access all the materials. For example, you'll be able to find articles that seem to be unavailable elsewhere.

Britannica Library: Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Explore thousands of magazine and journal articles directly related to search topics. Plus get help with how-to documents for book reviews, research papers, science reports, and presentations in the Research Tools and Materials section.

Reference E-Books (Gale)
General OneFile (Gale)
Opposing Views in Context (Gale)
Power Search (Gale)
A comprehensive search engine that cross-searches across multiple Gale databases
to find authoritative reference, periodical and primary source documents.
Google Scholar

Proquest Central Student This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource brings together some of ProQuest’s most used databases in education, humanities, psychology, science, social sciences, and news. It includes millions of articles from more than 10,000 full-text scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Statistics in Schools
Statistics activities based on a variety of topics and subjects including math, history, geography, sociology, and English.

Arts

DATABASES

If you are prompted to log in using usernames and passwords, use the ones listed in the "Off Campus Access to Library Databases" tile in the Topics section of Library Lounge.

Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context uses numerous reference works to provide extensive biographical information. Entries include full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals and reference sources.
Britannica High School Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Includes topical articles, maps, photos, illustrations, videos, multimedia clips, and yearbooks from 1993 onward. Many entries also list suggested websites and related resources for additional reading on the subject.

ON THE WEB

Artcyclopedia - Art Search Engine
You can search for individual artists, art movements, geographic locations, art museums, or by titles of artwork.
Artstor Public Collections
More than 1 million image, video, document, and audio files from public institutional collections freely available to everyone.
Bezalel Narkiss Index of Jewish Art
From the Hebrew University, Jerusalem. Thousands of images of art, artifacts, illuminated manuscripts, books, sacred and ritual objects, and architecture from ancient to present day. In accordance with copyright law, you are able to reuse the images for educational purposes under the laws of Fair Use. and you must acknowledge the source of any material you include in your research project.
Getty Art Collection Open Content
Over 100,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program. These images include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks. Use this attribution for any Open Content item you use in your work: Digital image courtesy of the Getty's Open Content Program.
Google Arts and Culture
Free access to 3 major collections: art, music, and artifacts from art collections from around the world; exhibitions about historic events with documents, photos, videos, and personal accounts; historic sites from the ancient and modern world.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
From the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Art and artifacts, a timeline of art history, and essays about art and global culture from the Heilbrunn Collection.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Open Access Artwork. Browse more than 406,000 hi-res images of public-domain works in The Met collection that can be downloaded, shared, and remixed without restriction.
National Library of Israel Digital Collection
Art, manuscripts, artifacts, and music audio files, within several different collections, including: Israel, Judaica, Islam & Middle East.
VADS
Over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections in the UK, free to use for education.

DATABASES

These databases include our school subscriptions plus databases we can use during a trial period. Please make a note of when these trials end. If you are prompted to log in using usernames and passwords, use the ones listed in the "Off Campus Access to Library Databases" tile in the Topics section of Library Lounge.

DATABASES

Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center includes resources on literary topics, authors, and their works. Scholarly articles, topic overviews, book reviews, biographical essays as well as poems and short stories can be found in this resource.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Drama Online contains playtexts, audio, video, and books of plays, performances, and actors. See the "Off Campus Access" tile in the Topics page of the Library Lounge for the username and password to access this database.

DATABASES

You should have direct access to these databases when you are on campus. If you are prompted to log in using usernames and passwords, use the ones listed in the "Off Campus Access to Library Databases" tile in the Topics section of Library Lounge.

Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context uses numerous reference works to provide extensive biographical information. Entries include full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals and reference sources.
Britannica High School Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Includes topical articles, maps, photos, illustrations, videos, multimedia clips, and yearbooks from 1993 onward. Many entries also list suggested websites and related resources for additional reading on the subject.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Includes full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.
World History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Contains information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.authoritative reference content as well as full-text magazines, academic journals, Includes news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.

ON THE WEB

Milken Archive of Jewish Music
Over 600 pieces of music by 200 composers. Along with the recordings, the Milken Archive has documented the history of Jewish music in America through more than 150 oral histories with composers, cantors, educators, and performers. Also includes comprehensive essays and liner notes that examine the cultural and historical contexts in which this music has been created.
National Library of Israel Sound Archive
Thousands of hours of digitized audio recordings.Includes recordings from The House of Hebrew Song, links to Jewish singers and composers, and links to world music web sites.

E-BOOKS & PRINT BOOKS

St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture by Thomas Riggs
ISBN: 9781410380821
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
This encyclopedia examines the history and contributions of hip hop to American and global culture, including the music, dance, and visual arts that are its artistic expressions. Entries also examine hip hop’s influence in other arenas such as fashion, film, and poetry; its impact on education, politics, social activism, racial and ethnic identity, and globalization; and its many contributions to American, urban, black, and Latino cultures.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie (Editor); John Tyrrell (Editor)
Call Number: Ref ML100 .N532 2001
ISBN: 1561592390
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
A History of Western Music by Donald J. Grout; Claude V. Palisca
Call Number: ML160 G872
ISBN: 0393969045
Publication Date: 1996-03-01
Norton Anthology of Western Music by Claude V. Palisca (Editor)
Call Number: M1 R382 v.1 and v.2
ISBN: 0393969061
Publication Date: 1996-08-01

Lying up a Nation by Ronald M. Radano
Call Number: ML3556 R25
ISBN: 0226701980
Publication Date: 2003-11-01

Business

Gale Business Collection
Articles from nearly 4,000 business, trade, and international publications on topics related to all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
General Reference Center Gold

Government & Law

Gale eBooks
Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States
David S. Tanenhaus, ed. Detroit, MI: Macmillan Reference USA, 2008. 2659 pp. 5 vols.
Gale Research in Context
Reference, periodical, and multimedia content including primary sources for topics about cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and science.
Elections & Voting
Enter your residential address to get a list of all of your local, state, and federal elected officials.

English

Health & Wellness

Hebrew

Note: Information About Databases

If you are prompted to log in using usernames and passwords, use the ones listed in the "Off Campus Access to Library Databases" tile in the Topics section of Library Lounge. You will find additional databases in the A-Z Database box.

Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context uses numerous reference works to provide extensive biographical information. Entries include full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals and reference sources.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
This reference source provides perspectives on national and global current events from international news providers. There are sections on Business and Economy; Health and Medicine; Conflict and Diplomacy; Science and Technology; Environment and Climate Change; Society and Culture; Government, Politics, and Law; and Women, Children, and the Family. There is browsing by issue or by region.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Contains newspaper and scholarly articles, statistics, multimedia, infographics, and primary sources that provide different points of view on controversial contemporary topics.
Proquest Central Student This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource brings together some of ProQuest’s most used databases in education, humanities, psychology, science, social sciences, and news. It includes millions of articles from more than 10,000 full-text scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Reference E-Books (Gale) This link opens in a new window
More than 200 searchable reference e-books for the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and the social sciences.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Provides information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Includes full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.
World History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Contains information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.authoritative reference content as well as full-text magazines, academic journals, Includes news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.

Smithsonian's History Explorer
Historical Jewish Press
From the National Library of Israel. A collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. We display digital versions of each paper, making it possible to view the papers in their original layout. Full-text search is also available for all content published over the course of each newspaper’s publication.
Massachusetts Archives Division
The Massachusetts Archives holds the official records created by Massachusetts state government. Holdings are organized by agency and date from 1629 to the present.
Digital Public Library of America
DPLA has resources from libraries, museums and archives. You can search, explore by date or place, or browse the exhibitions.
Library of Congress
Over 18 million digitized items from the Library Congress Collections, including manuscripts, photographs, maps, sound recordings and more.
National Archives
Schusterman Center for Israel Studies Library Guide
Links to many resources for research about Israel. Many of the resources are open source. If there is a padlock icon before the title of a resource, you can only access it if you are a student at Brandeis.

Jewish Studies

Electronic Jewish Studies Resources from NYPL
Encylopedia Judaica
22 Volumes. Our library has both the print edition and the electronic edition.
Gale eBooks
Gale E-books includes more than 200 searchable titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and the social sciences.
Historical Jewish Press
A collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. We display digital versions of each paper, making it possible to view the papers in their original layout. Full-text search is also available for all content published over the course of each newspaper’s publication.
Jewish Journal
JewishJournal.com is one of the world’s leading Jewish news sites. It contains local, national and global news updated daily, as well as commentary from noted Jewish personalities and writers. Jewish Journal is published by TRIBE Media Corp., formerly Los Angeles Jewish Publications, Inc. It is a diversified non-profit media company focused on local, national and global Jewish news, issues and culture. It is not affiliated with any organization, ideology or movement. TRIBE Media Corp. consists of Jewish Journal; jewishjournal.com, podcasts and Tribe Events.
Sefaria
A free digital collection of Jewish texts in Hebrew and in translation.
Yiddish Book Center
Includes literature, podcasts, art, interactive Yiddish language tutorials, and features published by the Yiddish Book Center in Amherst, MA. Whether you are interested in hearing Yiddish poetry performances (with the printed translations), reading classic Yiddish short stories in translation, touring online exhibits, or listening to The Schmooze podcast series, there is something for everyone.
YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe
This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive picture of the history and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present. Topics include Arts, Daily Life, Places, Language and Literature, History and Politics, Religion.

Math

WolframAlpha
This is a computational search engine – or answer engine – that gives answers to questions (rather than giving you a list of web sites that contain information on the query you put in the search box). For example, queries can include math equations. Wolfram Alpha provides answers in the areas of Mathematics, Science and Technology, Society and Culture, and Everyday Life.
Business Insights: Essentials
Articles and data about companies and industries.
Expanded Academic ASAP

Interactive Web Sites

Mathigon https://mathigon.org/

Math in Daily Life http://www.learner.org/interactives/dailymath/resources.html

PUMAS (Practical Uses of Math AND Science) https://pumas.jpl.nasa.gov/

U.S Census Bureau
Provides access to data on population, housing, economics, and geographic information about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.
Data USA
Khan Academy
Homework support and test prep.
Statistics in Schools
Statistics activities based on a variety of topics and subjects including math, history, geography, sociology, and English.
United States Census Bureau

News

Subscription Databases
On the Web

Note: Information About Subscription Databases

You should get direct access to these databases when on campus. If you are prompted to log in using usernames and passwords, go to the "Off Campus Access to Library Databases" tile in the Topics section of Library Lounge to see individual database usernames and passwords.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
More than 13,000 international, national, regional, and local news articles from over 200 countries and territories.
Boston Globe Article Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles published in the Boston Globe from 1980 to the present.
Boston Globe Historical Newspapers 1872-1990 This link opens in a new window
Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. Researchers can study the progression of issues over time through these historical newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons, and more.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
This reference source provides perspectives on national and global current events from international news providers. There are sections on Business and Economy; Health and Medicine; Conflict and Diplomacy; Science and Technology; Environment and Climate Change; Society and Culture; Government, Politics, and Law; and Women, Children, and the Family. There is browsing by issue or by region.
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national and local publications, as well as titles from around the world. In addition to full text articles, this database includes images and radio/television broadcasts.
Proquest Central Student This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource brings together some of ProQuest’s most used databases in education, humanities, psychology, science, social sciences, and news. It includes millions of articles from more than 10,000 full-text scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
New York Times: Historical, current, and also the Learning Network This link opens in a new window
1. Visit nytimes.com/passes to activate your school New York Times digital pass.

2. On nytimes.com/passes, click on "Register" and create a free account using your school email address. If you already have registered a free NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address, log in with those credentials.

3. Validate your email address. Check your email inbox for a confirmation message from The New York Times. Click on the link in your confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your New York Times Academic Pass. This will bring you back to the academic pass page, where you will select whether you are a student or faculty member and select your graduation year if relevant.

Google News
Google News is a news aggregator that presents a continuous, customizable flow of articles organized from thousands of publishers and magazines. Google News is available as an app
Google News Archive
This is an extension of Google News providing free access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives on the web, both free and paid. Some of the news archives date back to 18th century.
The Guardian
World news from a UK newspaper.
Historical Jewish Press
This site contains a collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. Provided by the National Library of Israel.
Jewish Journal
JewishJournal.com is one of the world’s leading Jewish news sites. It contains local, national and global news updated daily, as well as commentary from noted Jewish personalities and writers. Jewish Journal is published by TRIBE Media Corp., formerly Los Angeles Jewish Publications, Inc. It is a diversified non-profit media company focused on local, national and global Jewish news, issues and culture. It is not affiliated with any organization, ideology or movement. TRIBE Media Corp. consists of Jewish Journal; jewishjournal.com, podcasts and Tribe Events.
Jewish Telegraphic Agency
The Jewish Telegraphic Agency is a non partisan news organization. It has correspondents in New York, Washington, Israel, Europe and cities around the globe, and provides extensive coverage of political, economic and social developments affecting Jews all over the world. JTA was founded in 1917 and all its communications since 1923 have been digitized and are freely available online. JTA also serves as an international syndication service for more than 70 Jewish publications and websites that depend on JTA for Jewish news outside of their local community.
Jewish Telegraphic Agency Archives
This digital historical archive of communications from the JTA goes back to 1923 and continues to the present day. There are currently around 250,000 articles which are free and open to the public.
PBS NewsHour
The PBS NewsHour website has all the latest news, as well as videos and transcripts from the show listed chronologically or by topic. The show also streams live on Youtube.
PBS Newshour Extra
News articles and videos from PBS NewsHour plus additional background and context for each topic. There is a "Student Voices" section that enables students to publish original work related to the news, including essays and video reports.
Smithsonian Teen Tribune
Daily news articles from the Associated Press in both English and Spanish versions. You can read the articles in a choice of reading levels. Also includes a weekly video and a weekend "Monday Morning Ready" newsletter.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
More than 13,000 international, national, regional, and local news articles from over 200 countries and territories.

Science

Databases
Websites

Science in Context

Science.org This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in Science magazine from 1997 to the present day. This peer-reviewed science journal is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Science Journals includes over 1,145 titles—with more than 965 available in full text. This database includes articles, charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements for applied and general sciences.
Science (Gale Interactive) This link opens in a new window

Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
This reference source provides perspectives on national and global current events from international news providers. There are sections on Business and Economy; Health and Medicine; Conflict and Diplomacy; Science and Technology; Environment and Climate Change; Society and Culture; Government, Politics, and Law; and Women, Children, and the Family. There is browsing by issue or by region.

Tech

Khan Academy
Lear skills in computer programming, coding, animation, and computer science.
Women in Computing
Learning Programming and Coding
MIT Open Courseware
MIT Open Courseware (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.

World Languages

eBooks & Digital Audio Books

BiblioBoard
Ebook Central
Google Books
Google Talk to Books
Gale eBooks
Sora
- Download the free SORA app.
- Select Gann Academy from the drop down list.
- Click on the access link.
- Log in using your school credentials.