Krupp Library: History 9: Early Modern World: Books

Reference Books (in print in the Gann library collection)

Christianity by Linda Woodhead
Call Number: BR121.3 .W66 2014
ISBN: 9780199687749
Publication Date: 2014-11-01
This Very Short Introduction explores the cultural and institutional dimensions of Christianity over the course of two millennia.
Daily Life in the Middle Ages by Paul B. Newman
Call Number: CB353 .N46 2001
ISBN: 9780786408979
Publication Date: 2001-02-15
Chapters include Eating and Cooking, Building and Housing, Clothing and Dressing, Cleaning, Relaxing and Playing, Fighting, and Healing.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages by Norman F. Cantor (Editor); Harold Rabinowitz (Editor)
Call Number: Ref D114 .E53 1999
ISBN: 9780670100118
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
Articles and essays about major topics, people, and events of the Middle Ages. This encyclopedia includes articles on many aspects of daily life.
The Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages by Matthew E. Bunson
Call Number: Ref CB351 .B85 1993
ISBN: 9780816024568
Publication Date: 1995-06-01
Articles about events, people, ideas and movements of the Middle Ages both in Europe and further east. Also includes a glossary of medieval terms.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation by Thomas Goddard Bergin; Jennifer Speake
Call Number: Ref CB359.B47 2004
ISBN: 9780816054510
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Articles about the principal issues, events, and people in Europe throughout the 14th, 15th, and 16th century. Topics include families, religion, food, exploration and much more.
The European Renaissance and Reformation by Norman J. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: Ref DT61 .A55 2000 V.1
ISBN: 9780787617066
Publication Date: 2001-06-08
Also available as a Gale e-Book. Look for chapter 7: Leisure, Recreation, and Daily Life and search for articles about clergy, peasants, and nobility in the index.
Medieval Europe, 814-1350 by Jeremiah Hackett (Editor)
Call Number: Ref DT61 .A55 2000 v.4
ISBN: 9780787617097
Publication Date: 2001-11-20
Also available as a Gale e-Book. Choose topics from the detailed table of contents. Two chapters are particularly useful. They are Chapter 5: Social Class System and the Economy and Chapter 7: Leisure, Recreation, and Daily Life.

Search the Catalog

E-Book Collections

A medieval baker with his apprentice. The Bodleian Library, Oxford.

Gale e-Books

Tips for Using Gale e-Books

You can search for articles in specific books/volumes or in multiple books at the same time.
Use the topic finder feature to help you find articles related to your topic.

Medieval Europe
A collection of 10 searchable e-books on life during the Middle Ages, including the role of the Church.
Religion
You will find additional information about religion during the middle ages in this specialized collection of e-books. Use the search bar to narrow your topic search.

Individual E-Books

Gale e-Books

Tips for Using Gale e-Books

You can search for articles in specific books/volumes or in multiple books at the same time.
Use the topic finder feature to help you find general articles related to your topic.

Life During Medieval Times by Toney Allman
Publication Date: 2014
The Middle Ages by William C. Jordan (Editor)
Publication Date: 1996-05-01
Middle Ages Reference Library by Judson Knight; Judy Galens
Publication Date: 2004-08-01
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World by Pam J. Crabtree (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008-06-01
The European Renaissance and Reformation by Norman J. Wilson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2001-06-08
Medieval Europe, 814-1350 by Jeremiah Hackett (Editor)
Publication Date: 2001-11-20
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Publication Date: 2010-05-07

History 9: Early Modern World: Books

Electronic Books

Life During Medieval Times

The Middle Ages

Middle Ages Reference Library

Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World

The European Renaissance and Reformation

Medieval Europe, 814-1350

New Catholic Encyclopedia

Reference Books (in print in the Gann library collection)

Search the Catalog

E-Book Collections

Individual E-Books