Krupp Library: Biological Basis of Behavior Class: BBB Research Project

Reference Ebooks

Reference sources, such as encyclopedias, provide background information on a topic and can help you in getting context and perspective on a topic. Entries will often also include a reference list or resources used by the author. These provide great leads to track down more information on your topic.

Encyclopaedia Britannica
Includes topical articles, maps, photos, illustrations, videos, multimedia clips, and yearbooks from 1993 onward. Many entries also list suggested websites and related resources for additional reading on the subject.
Source Reference (Credo)
Includes hundreds of general and subject specific reference eBooks with thousands of easily searchable images, audio files, and videos. This is a good place to start your research.

How to Read Scientific Articles

Parts of a Scientific Article -

Abstract - A brief overview of what the article is about and why the authors did the experiment.
Introduction - Gives you the motivation and importance of the study, includes background information.
Literature Review - Reviews previous work on this topic that this article builds upon.
Methods - How the experiment was carried out.
Results - This is the raw data from the experiment. There will be charts and tables.
Discussion - The reasons for the conclusion.
Conclusion, Implication or Summary - This section discusses the meaning and implications of the research.

Science

Psychology Collection
Why look here?
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time.
What's included?
Articles published between 1980 and the present relating to the study of the mind.
PubMed
Why search here?
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from life science journals and online books.
What's included?
Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Science in Context
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest)

Multidisciplinary

Note: Information About Databases

The databases below include our school subscriptions plus databases we can use during a trial period. Please make a note of when these trials end (the dates are listed with each database). If you are prompted to log in using usernames and passwords, use the ones listed in the "Off Campus Access to Library Databases" tile in the Topics section of Library Lounge. You will find additional databases in the A-Z Database List.

Academic OneFile
Academic Onefile is a comprehensive database that allows you to find peer-reviewed, full-text articles in many subject areas, including physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature and more.
It contains thousands of academic journals, the majority in full text HTML and PDF formats, and hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and and CBC.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Updated daily, Expanded Academic ASAP is a comprehensive database that contains scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers across all academic disciplines, including the arts and humanities, social sciences, science and technology. Most of the content is peer-reviewed and in full text and includes images.
General OneFile
General OneFile is a large, multidisciplinary database that includes information across every subject area from a variety of publication types.
Since this database has many different publication types, the Publication Search tool is very helpful in narrowing your search by publication format/date, subject, language and country of origin.

Global Issues in Context
Why search here?
This database provides access to academic sources on a wide range of topics.
What's included?
It features a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Gale Sites
Quick access to a variety of databases including Encyclopedia Britannica, all the "In Context" databases, and more.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches across scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints and grey literature.
There is typically an abstract for the article. Ask a librarian to request the full text of the article. Additionally, check out the Cited by link to find resources that utilized that one in their bibliography.
Issues & Controversies
in-depth articles, videos, audio, primary sources, infographics, and broadcasts representing multiple perspectives covering complex, hot-button issues in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
JSTOR
Full-text articles from 600 academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest)
Full text articles from the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Source Reference (Credo)
Includes hundreds of general and subject specific reference eBooks with thousands of easily searchable images, audio files, and videos. This is a good place to start your research.
World News Digest
Current events and historical content dating back to the 1040s from national and international news sources; articles providing context for historic events; historical footage of major speeches and events; social media reactions; editorial cartoons; infographics; statistics; and a That Day in History feature.

Biological Basis of Behavior Class

Reference Ebooks

How to Read Scientific Articles

Science

Multidisciplinary

Research Strategies

JSTOR