Skip to main content
site header image

Saint Joan

Books about Joan

eBook Joan of Arc by Helen Castor - Read it on Axis 360

Synopsis : Tells the story of the extraordinary peasant girl from Domremy as never told before, revealing a living, breathing woman confronting the challenges of faith and doubt and placing her actions in the context of the larger political and religious conflicts of this period in France.

ebook Joan of Arc by Kathryn Harrison - Read it on Axis360

Synopsis : A fully documented, inspiring portrait of the 15th-century peasant-turned-saint draws on historical facts, folklore and centuries of critical interpretation to evaluate the questions attributed to her character. Simultaneous.

Images of Joan of Arc

Illustration of Joan of Arc by unknown artist circa 1448

Image Source: BiblioBoard courtesy of Commonwealth eBooks Collections

Copyright: Public Domain

1920 depiction of Joan of Arc, unknown artist

Image Source: BiblioBoard courtesy of Commonwealth eBook Collection

Copyright: Public Domain

Painting by Sir John Everett Millais of Joan of Arc painted in 1865, titled "Joan of Arc."

Image Source: Biblioboard courtesy of Commonwealth eBook Collection

Copyright: Public Domain

Illustration of Joan of Arc on horseback from a 1505 manuscript

Image Source: BiblioBoard Courtesy of Commonwealth eBook Collection

Copyright: Public Domain

1912 Ringling Brothers advertisement for a spectacle featuring King Charles VII, Joan of Arc, knights and others

Image Source: BiblioBoard courtesy of Commonwealth eBook Collection

Copyright: Public Domain

Joan of Arc at the coronation of Charles VII in the Cathedral of Reims by Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres

Image Source: BiblioBoard courtesy of Commonwealth eBook Collections

Copyright: Public Domain

1843 painting of Joan of Arc at the stake by German artist Hermann Anton Stilke

Image Source: BiblioBoard courtesy of Commonwealth eBook Collection. Original Painting located at the Russian Hermitage Museum.

Copyright: Public Domain

Further Reading for Discussion Groups

Theater : A British Library Learning Timeline

Theater: A British Library Learning Timeline fills the stage with classical music and colorful theater. A BiblioBoard Anthology

Socrates: Father of Western Philosophy

"Socrates famously stirred up the status quo in the classical world." Learn more in this BiblioBoard anthology of 60 books, images, and articles.

Play Directing : Analysis, Communication, and Style

Play Directing by Francis Hodge and Michael McLain describes the various roles a director plays, from selection and analysis of the play, to working with actors and designers to bring the production to life.

Available from EBL (must be at Gann to create username & password, but you can read off-campus after you've created an account

History, Memory, Performance

History, Memory, Performance is an interdisciplinary collection of essays exploring performances of the past in a wide range of trans-national and historical contexts.

Available from EBL (must be at Gann to create username & password, but you can read off-campus after you've created an account

About the Library