Skip to main content

About Library Guides

The Krupp Library is a vibrant center of learning within the school.

Students come to the library

  • to study
  • to do research
  • to relax
  • to eat lunch
  • to discuss current school, national and world events
  • to play games
  • to work on a project in our collaboration rooms
  • to borrow books
  • to borrow cameras
  • to borrow headphones and computer chargers
  • to print their papers
  • to get help finding print and online sources for their research
  • to borrow course reserve books
  • to get a recommendation for a book to read for fun
  • to look at magazines

 

What we offer:

  • Subscriptions to 25 print magazines
  • Approximately 7,000 print books - classics and contemporary fiction, non-fiction to support the curriculum and to offer perspectives on current national and world events and issues, select reference encyclopedias to supplement the online offerings. The collection is always being updated to add new, relevant books and remove those that are worn and/or outdated
  • Subscribe to two research databases (online collection of academic journals, magazines, and newspapers) and one eBook database with more than 100,000 books
  • Short-term (hourly) equipment loans of headphones, laptop chargers, DSLR cameras

 

External resources available to Gann students:

  • Member of (MLS) Massachusetts Library System:  Students have access to the wider holdings of all the libraries in this system through interlibrary loan.
  • 40 more research databases and two more eBook collections (both academic and popular/bestseller) available through MLS
  • Boston Public Library Electronic Library – students can register for an eCard with BPL to access to even more magazines and journals

 

Library Instructional Program:

The Library Media Specialist works with teachers to integrate library research and other information literacy skills (such as evaluating websites). The Library Media Specialist also provides individual research instruction to students in the library as needed or by appointment. Finally, LibGuides and the tutorials in the Library Lounge in OnCampus provide additional instruction and guidance in finding, accessing, using, and evaluating a range of information sources.