Krupp Library: Science 12: Advanced Experimental and Organic Chemistry: Databases

Science Databases

Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Contains background reference content along with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, and audio files.
Science This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in Science magazine from 1997 to the present day. This peer-reviewed science journal is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window ProQuest Science Journals includes over 1,145 titles—with more than 965 available in full text. This database includes articles, charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements for applied and general sciences.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic (Gale OneFile ) This link opens in a new window Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles in many subject areas, including physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature and more. It also includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and and CBC.
Academic Select (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Updated daily, Expanded Academic ASAP is a comprehensive database that contains scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers across all academic disciplines, including the arts and humanities, social sciences, science and technology. Most of the content is peer-reviewed and in full text and includes images.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window General OneFile is a large, multidisciplinary database that includes information across every subject area from a variety of publication types. Since this database has many different publication types, the Publication Search tool is very helpful in narrowing your search by publication format/date, subject, language and country of origin.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar searches across scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints and grey literature. There is typically an abstract for the article. Ask a librarian to request the full text of the article. Additionally, check out the Cited by link to find resources that utilized that one in their bibliography.
Proquest Central Student This link opens in a new window This multidisciplinary resource brings together some of ProQuest’s most used databases in education, humanities, psychology, science, social sciences, and news. It includes millions of articles from more than 10,000 full-text scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Medical Databases

Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Why look here?
The Health and Wellness Resource Center provides up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources.
What's included?
It has nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to reference titles.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
Why look here?
Use this database to find articles from nursing and allied health journals. Covers topics such as fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs and more.
What's included?
Many articles are available in full text and also have graphics.
Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Why look here?
In depth information about diseases and anatomical systems with explanations of interventions and diagnostic tests.

Open Access

Biodiversity Heritage Library The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
Data Sources A list of the organizations and vendors who provided data included within the PubChem website. This list of sources includes chemical vendors around the globe. TIP: Use the check boxes on the left of the page to filter your search results by source type, category, status, and country.
Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
FDA New Drugs Development and Approval FDA regulations and procedures for the development and approval of new drugs.
The Human Genome Project The HGP was an inward voyage of discovery led by an international team of researchers looking to sequence and map all of the genes -- together known as the genome -- of members of our species, Homo sapiens.
PubChem An open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The database is a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public.
PubMed PubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.